WATF_logo green outline bilingual.png


The West Africa Task Force brings together the six member countries of the Fisheries Committee for the West Central Gulf of Guinea (FCWC) – Benin, Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Liberia, Nigeria and Togo – to tackle illegal fishing and fisheries crime. The Task Force is facilitated by the FCWC Secretariat and supported by a Technical Team that includes TMT and Stop Illegal Fishing with funding from Norad. By actively cooperating, by sharing information and by facilitating national inter-agency working groups the West Africa Task Force is working together to end illegal fishing.


FISH-i Africa unites eight East African coastal countries to tackle illegal fishing in their waters. The Western Indian Ocean is home to plentiful fish resources that provide jobs, support local economies and represent an important food source for the region and globally. However, it is also an IUU fishing hotspot that draws illegal operators from across the globe to target the region’s rich tuna resources, which threatens economic and food security. Eight countries – Comoros, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, Seychelles, Somalia and Tanzania – have joined forces to tackle this problem, with support from Stop Illegal Fishing and TMT.  

© 2020 Stiftelsen Trygg Mat Tracking - Fisheries intelligence, analysis and capacity support to combat illegal fishing

  • White Twitter Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon

Join our Mailing List