top of page
HAN RONG 362 - NW Indian Ocean (1).jpg

FCWC to Hold 14th Session of Ministerial Conference to Advance Regional Fisheries Cooperation

Accra, Ghana: January 6, 2023

The Fisheries Committee for the West Central Gulf of Guinea (FCWC) hereby announces the

holding of its 14th Session of the Conference of Ministers meeting from 11 – 13 January 2023

in Accra, Ghana, in-person and online.

The Ministers of the six FCWC Member States (Benin, Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Liberia, Nigeria,

Togo) or their representatives are expected to attend this year’s meeting organized on the

theme “Supporting effective fisheries management for a sustainable blue economy.”

The Ministerial Conference on the 13 January 2023 will be preceded by a two-day Advisory and

Consultative Committee session (ACC) on 11 & 12 January 2023, that convenes the Directors

of fisheries Ministries and the Heads of monitoring, control and surveillance (MCS) to

deliberate on the theme, review working documents and prepare the recommendations for

the Ministers to adopt.

“The FCWC is prioritizing effective fisheries management and the improved implementation

of fisheries management plans to achieve sustainable blue growth. This meeting will provide

the opportunity to discuss the fisheries management processes and cycles, to review the

regional fisheries management plan, and identify priority actions to operationalize it,” said

FCWC Secretary-General, Seraphin Dedi.

Key discussions this year will include the FCWC structure and its financing mechanisms; the

one-year extension of the Norad funding to the West Africa Task Force implemented in

cooperation with TMT and Stop Illegal Fishing; a review of the standard operating

procedures (SOPs) for the regional observer programs and the Regional Monitoring Control

and Surveillance Centre (RMCSC); a review of the regional fisheries management plan; and

the adoption of a regional closed season.


The Fisheries Committee for the West Central Gulf of Guinea (FCWC) is an

intergovernmental body established in 2007, with a Secretariat hosted in Tema, Ghana. The

FCWC facilitates cooperation in fisheries management between its member countries:

Liberia, Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Togo, Benin, and Nigeria. The countries have several shared

fish stocks and identified the need for cooperation and shared management of these



bottom of page