top of page
HAN RONG 362 - NW Indian Ocean (1).jpg

EU Companies involved in vessels on EU list of non-cooperating countries

The European Commission today published a list of selected third countries that the Commission considers as “possible of being identified as non-cooperating third countries pursuant to IUU Regulation” pursuant to Council Regulation (EC) No 1005/2008.

The Commission Decision identifies Belize, Cambodia, Fiji, Guinea, Panama, Sri Lanka, Togo andVanuatu as such potential non-cooperating third countries.

Trygg Mat has conducted a brief analysis of the fishing vessels flagged to these countries and what companies are involved as owners or operators of them.

  • 27% of the vessels with known owner are owned by EU based companies

  • 24% of the vessels with foreign operators are operated by EU based companies

  • EU based companies are involved in one or other capacity in 66 of the vessels, including 2 vessels on RFMO IUU lists

  • There is involvement from a total of 50 companies from 14 different EU member States

  • There are more vessels controlled by EU based companies than by any other single State.

Full memo:

bottom of page